Live Darts on Sunday June 10: Gibraltar Trophy 2018 Day Three preview and order of play

  • Watch & bet on the Gibraltar Trophy live at UTV > Darts
Wade and Lewis go head-to-head in the Last 16 (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The seventh European Tour event of the season draws to a close on Sunday as the 16 remaining hopefuls battle it out for the Gibraltar Trophy title.

The Second Round saw seven seeded players fall at their first hurdle on Saturday, including defending champion Michael Smith and last year's runner-up, Mensur Suljovic.

A number of the usual suspects remain firmly in contention for the £25,000 title, as well as a clutch of in-form qualifiers hoping to claim a historic triumph.

Michael van Gerwen is odds-on favourite to claim a fifth Euro Tour trophy of 2018, and the world number one kicks off the afternoon session with a clash against Stoke journeyman Andy Boulton.

Van Gerwen came from 4-2 down to deny compatriot Vincent van der Voort in Round Two with a 107.8 average, and any repeat of that level of ruthlessness could spell grave danger for 'X Factor'.

Boulton averaged just shy of 99 in edging out Ritchie Edhouse in a deciding leg before seeing off Stephen Bunting 6-4 to extend his best run of the season so far.

The stand-out tie of the Third Round sees two multiple major champions collide as Adrian Lewis takes on James Wade.

Lewis is appearing at this stage of a European Tour event for the first time this year after whitewashing Gibraltar youngster Clayton Otton before seeing off Mensur Suljovic 6-3.

Wade, winner of this title in 2014, already has two Semi-Finals and a final under his belt on the European Tour this term and will be keen to maintain his consistent vein of form.

World Champion Rob Cross steps up his quest for a first ranking title of the campaign when he faces fellow Premier League star Simon Whitlock.

Cross came from behind to edge out Cristo Reyes in his opener, while Whitlock cruised past Adam Huckvale 6-1 and is now out to make it three games undefeated against 'Voltage' in 2018.

Like Cross, world number two Peter Wright is yet to claim a PDC title so far this season, and the colourful Scot looks to remain in the running this weekend by ending the hopes of Bedlington's Chris Dobey.

Wright safely defeated in-form Michael Barnard 6-2 with a 100.6 average on Saturday evening, while Dobey knows he must clean up his act on the doubles after missing a hatful in his win over Mervyn King.

The only two players outside of MVG to have claimed European Tour silverware this season go head-to-head as German Open winner Max Hopp meets Austrian Open champion Jonny Clayton.

Hopp whitewashed Mark Dudbridge before knocking out ninth seed Ian White 6-4, now the 21-year-old German looks to continue his remarkable resurgence by overcoming a fellow World Cup competitor at the peak of his form.

Two-time Players Championship event winner Joe Cullen aims to pick up from where he left off in the last round when he comes up against a quietly confident Paul Nicholson.

Cullen averaged just shy of 108 in thrashing Darius Labanauskas 6-1, while Nicholson is appearing on the final day of a Euro Tour event for the second time this year after overcoming Anthony Lopez and Dave Chisnall 6-0 and 6-4 respectively.

Former UK Open and World Cup finalist Gerwyn Price bids to remain on course to reach his second European Tour final of 2018 by denying Jermaine Wattimena - who dumped out defending champion Michael Smith in a deciding leg on Saturday.

World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney steps up his quest for a maiden Euro Tour title when he faces Steve West - who has looked impressive in defeating Toni Alcinas and Darren Webster en route to this stage.

The action gets underway from midday, with Third Round and Quarter-Final matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 legs and the final best of 15.

Gibraltar Trophy 2018 Match Schedule

All times BST (Local time one hour ahead)

Sunday June 10

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Third Round
Michael van Gerwen v Andy Boulton
Jonny Clayton v Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney v Steve West 
Rob Cross v Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price v Jermaine Wattimena
Joe Cullen v Paul Nicholson
Adrian Lewis v James Wade
Peter Wright v Chris Dobey
Evening Session (6.15pm-10pm)

Van Gerwen/Boulton v Clayton/Hopp
Gurney/West v Cross/Whitlock
Price/Wattimena v Cullen/Nicholson
Lewis/Wade v Wright/Dobey



Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Live Darts on Sunday June 10: Gibraltar Trophy 2018 Day Three preview and order of play

The seventh European Tour event of the season draws to a close on Sunday as the 16 remaining hopefuls battle it out for the Gibraltar Trophy title.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages