Josh Payne and Dimitri Van den Bergh set up World Youth Championship final clash

World number 49 Payne celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Josh Payne will take on Dimitri van den Bergh in the 2017 PDC World Youth Championship final after the pair came through the early rounds in Wigan on Monday.

Just six places separate the two rising stars in the main PDC Order of Merit and they will vie for the £10,000 top prize in Minehead later this month.

The final will be contested in between the Semi-Finals and final of the Players Championship Finals at the Butlins Minehead Resort on Sunday November 26.

As well as the lucrative cheque, the winner will also gain a spot in the upcoming World Championship, as well as next year's Grand Slam of Darts.

Payne, 23, kick-started his run to the final with a 6-4 victory over Germany's Nico Blum, before overcoming the highly-rated Adam Hunt 6-2.

Payne then edged out 17-year-old Justin van Tergouw, the reigning BDO World Youth Champion, in a deciding leg before whitewashing Kenny Neyes to reach the Semi-Finals.

There, he dethroned reigning champion Corey Cadby 6-3, ending the Australian's hopes of securing a place in the World Championship at Alexandra Palace.

Van den Bergh, a three-time winner on the Development Tour this year, began by whitewashing Chinese qualifier Qingyu Zhan and went on to defeat Rhys Griffin 6-3 in Round Two.

The Belgian ace held his nerve to edge past Scott Dale in a last-leg shoot-out before overcoming fellow PDC Tour Card holder Ted Evetts 6-4 in the Quarter-Finals.

Van den Bergh confirmed his place in the final by denying Development Tour Order of Merit winner Luke Humphries - who claimed five titles this year.

Humphries produced a superb 146 checkout to force a decider but was left to rue one match dart at the bullseye as 'The Dream Maker' stepped in to snatch victory.

Max Hopp, the 2015 champion, won through to the last 16 before losing out to Neyens, while top seed Benito van de Pas was a First Round casualty as he went down 6-5 to Dutch rival Jeffrey De Zwaan.

PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship 2017 Results

Monday November 6

First Round
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Benito van de Pas (1)
Jordan Christie 6-0 Luke Durham
Christian Bunse 6-4 Maxim Aldoshin
Sven Groen 6-1 Dominik Pundt
Mike De Decker (8) 6-5 Jake Jones
Berry van Peer 6-0 David Medina Puyol
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 Brian Raman
Corey Cadby 6-1 Sam Head
Kenny Neyens (5) 6-4 Kevin De Vries
Adam Smith-Neale 6-4 Andrew Davidson
Max Hopp 6-0 Joe Davis
John Brown 6-3 Daniel Jensen
Adam Hunt (4) 6-0 Jarvis Bautista
Josh Payne 6-4 Nico Blum
Justin van Tergouw 6-1 Jack Ryder
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Gergely Lakatos
Luke Humphries (2) 6-2 Rob Hewson
Jarred Cole 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Kurt Parry 6-4 Steve Lennon
Rhys Hayden 6-2 Man Lok Leung
Mike van Duivenbode (7) 6-3 Kalani Hillman
Martin Schindler 6-3 Lee Budgen
Harry Ward 6-5 Nico Ziemann
Ronnie Roberts 6-1 Dan Read
Ted Evetts (6) 6-2 Conor Mayes
Jimmy Hendriks 6-2 Dawson Murschell
Sam Hewson 6-2 Keifer Durham
Thomas Lovely 6-1 Stephen Rosney
Dimitri Van den Bergh (3) 6-0 Qingyu Zhan
Rhys Griffin 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Geert Nentjes 6-2 Melvin de Fejter
Scott Dale 6-2 Reece Colley

Second Round
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-0 Jordan Christie
Christian Bunse 6-2 Sven Groen
Mike De Decker 6-3 Berry van Peer
Corey Cadby 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Kenny Neyens 6-2 Adam Smith-Neale
Max Hopp 6-1 John Brown
Josh Payne 6-2 Adam Hunt
Justin van Tergouw 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Luke Humphries 6-3 Jarred Cole
Rhys Hayden 6-4 Kurt Parry
Martin Schindler 6-3 Mike van Duivenbode
Ronnie Roberts 6-4 Harry Ward
Ted Evetts 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks
Thomas Lovely 6-3 Sam Hewson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Rhys Griffin
Scott Dale 6-2 Geert Nentjes

Third Round
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-1 Christian Bunse
Corey Cadby 6-4 Mike De Decker
Kenny Neyens 6-2 Max Hopp
Josh Payne 6-5 Justin van Tergouw
Luke Humphries 6-5 Rhys Hayden
Martin Schindler 6-5 Ronnie Roberts
Ted Evetts 6-5 Thomas Lovely
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Scott Dale

Corey Cadby 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Josh Payne 6-0 Kenny Neyens
Luke Humphries 6-3 Martin Schindler
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Ted Evetts

Josh Payne 6-3 Corey Cadby
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Luke Humphries

Josh Payne v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Prize Fund
Winner £10,000 + place in 2017/2018 World Darts Championship + place in 2018 Grand Slam of Darts
Runner-Up £5,000 + place in 2018 Grand Slam of Darts
Semi-Finalists £2,500
Quarter-Finalists £1,500
Third Round Losers £1,000
Second Round Losers £500
First Round Losers: £250
Total £50,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Josh Payne and Dimitri Van den Bergh set up World Youth Championship final clash

Josh Payne will take on Dimitri van den Bergh in the 2017 PDC World Youth Championship final after the pair came through the early rounds in Wigan on Monday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages