Jonny Clayton claims maiden ranking title at Players Championship 22

Clayton celebrates at the World Championship (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Jonny Clayton became the latest new winner of a PDC title as he defeated James Wilson 6-1 to secure the final Players Championship title of the year in Barnsley on Wednesday.

The 43-year-old Welshman culminated a series of superb displays with a commanding victory over Wilson in the final to scoop the £10,000 top prize at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Clayton becomes the fifteenth different winner from 22 Players Championship events in 2017, having previously reached just one ProTour Semi-Final.

"At the end of the day, that's what you try for," said Clayton. "We all aim for the same thing which is to be with the best and to beat the best.

"I think they should move all PDC tournaments to Wednesdays because it's my lucky day!

"I don't think I was as nervous for the final as I was in the semis because it was just one more step.

"In the final you have to just try and relax and let them go.

"The World Championship is just around the corner and I wouldn't mind winning that thing! Hopefully this is a step in the right direction.

"I just take it step-by-by step but today is a tick in the box," he added.

Clayton's run began with a 6-3 victory over Canada's John Norman Jnr before bringing Terry Jenkins' last ever appearance in a Players Championship event to an end with a 6-4 win in Round Two.

He then edged out Tuesday's Players Championship 21 winner Rob Cross 6-5 to reach the Last 16 - where he again held his nerve in a deciding leg to see off Darren Webster with a 102 checkout.

A third straight last-leg win was to follow as he overcame Spain's Antonio Alcinas before dispatching Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 in the Semi-Finals.

Clayton landed a 180 in the opening leg of the final and sealed it on double eight, though Wilson hit back with an 84 finish for an 11-darter to level.

Clayton followed up tops in leg three with a 120 checkout to go 3-1 in front and duly extended his lead courtesy of a fine 102 finish.

The former amateur Rugby player registered his third maximum and took out 84 for 5-1 before wrapping up the title in style with a brilliant 121 checkout on the bullseye.

Wilson was bidding to claim his first PDC title and kick-started his run to only a second ProTour final with a 6-3 win over Dutch youngster Berry van Peer.

The Yorkshireman then defeated Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 before ending the run of Andy Hamilton - who had knocked out top seed Peter Wright in the previous round.

Wilson went on to defeat veteran Andy Jenkins 6-2 before edging past Ron Meulenkamp in a deciding leg to progress to the Last Four.

There, he ended the resurgent run of Jamie Caven with a 6-3 victory; Caven was appearing in his first Semi-Final for almost 18 months after a series of sublime displays which saw him book a place in the upcoming Players Championship Finals.

Emerging Dutch star De Zwaan was appearing in his first senior PDC Semi-Final as he bolstered his hopes of retaining his Tour Card for next season.

The top 64 players from the Players Championship Order of Merit following Wednesday's event have secured a spot in November's Players Championship Finals, with the draw to be confirmed in due course.

Players Championship 22 Results

Wednesday October 11

First Round
Peter Wright [BYE]
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Mark Barilli
James Wilson 6-3 Berry van Peer
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Ted Evetts
Jim Brown 6-4 Steve Beaton
Devon Petersen 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Ross Twell
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Alan Tabern
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Alan Norris
Mike De Decker 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Justin Pipe 6-3 Robbie Green
Steve Lennon 6-2 Warrick Scheffer
Diogo Portela 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Aden Kirk 6-2 Chris Quantock
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Harry Robinson
Peter Hudson 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Matt Clark 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Paul Rowley 6-5 Kevin Painter
Chris Dobey 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mervyn King 6-1 Robert Owen
Harry Ward 6-4 Steve Hine
John Henderson 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Wayne Jones 6-4 Ryan Palmer
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Ricky Evans
Jamie Caven 6-3 Callum Loose
Steve West 6-5 Terry Temple
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Adam Hunt
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Andy Boulton 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Adrian Lewis 6-1 William O'Connor
Ryan Searle 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Michael Smith 6-3 Matthew Dennant
Madars Razma 6-4 David Pallett
Mark Webster 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Mick McGowan
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Joe Murnan 6-4 Terry Roach
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Stuart Kellett
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-0 John Bowles
Wes Newton 6-5 Joe Cullen
James Richardson 6-5 Josh Payne
Richard North 6-4 Bernd Roith
Sven Groen 6-1 Jim Walker
Ian White 6-1 Martin Schindler
Darren Johnson 6-3 Barrie Bates
Peter Jacques 6-5 Christian Kist
Vincent Kamphuis 6-4 Jamie Bain
Dave Chisnall 6-4 John Michael
Max Hopp 6-5 Scott Taylor
Robert Thornton 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Jan Dekker 6-5 Tony Newell
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Stephen Burton
Craig Gilchrist 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Richie Burnett 6-1 James Wade
Antonio Alcinas 6-4 Richie Corner
Rob Cross 6-1 Brian Woods
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Jonathan Worsley
Jonny Clayton 6-3 John Norman Jnr
Terry Jenkins 6-5 Keegan Brown
Mick Todd 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Ryan Harrington 6-4 Michael Barnard
Darren Webster 6-0 John Part
Callan Rydz 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse

Second Round
Andy Hamilton 6-5 Peter Wright
James Wilson 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Devon Petersen 6-1 Jim Brown
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Ron Meulenkamp 6-1 Mike De Decker
Justin Pipe 6-5 Steve Lennon
Diogo Portela 6-1 Aden Kirk
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Peter Hudson
Matt Clark 6-4 Paul Rowley
Chris Dobey 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Mervyn King 6-3 Harry Ward
John Henderson 6-4 Wayne Jones
Jamie Caven 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Jimmy Hendriks 6-3 Steve West
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Andy Boulton
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Ryan Searle
Michael Smith 6-1 Madars Razma
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Mark Webster
Joe Murnan 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Wes Newton 6-2 James Richardson
Richard North 6-2 Sven Groen
Ian White 6-4 Darren Johnson
Peter Jacques 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Max Hopp 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Jan Dekker 6-5 Robert Thornton
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Craig Gilchrist
Antonio Alcinas 6-3 Richie Burnett
Rob Cross 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Terry Jenkins
Ryan Harrington 6-3 Mick Todd
Darren Webster 6-3 Callan Rydz
Losers: £500

Third Round
James Wilson 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Devon Petersen
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Justin Pipe
Diogo Portela 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Chris Dobey 6-4 Matt Clark
John Henderson 6-5 Mervyn King
Jamie Caven 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Michael Smith 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Joe Murnan
Richard North 6-3 Wes Newton
Ian White 6-0 Peter Jacques
Jan Dekker 6-5 Max Hopp
Antonio Alcinas 6-2 Benito van de Pas
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Rob Cross
Darren Webster 6-2 Ryan Harrington
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
James Wilson 6-2 Andy Jenkins
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Diogo Portela
John Henderson 6-4 Chris Dobey
Jamie Caven 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Michael Smith
Richard North 6-2 Ian White
Antonio Alcinas 6-4 Jan Dekker
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Darren Webster
Losers: £1,500

James Wilson 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Jamie Caven 6-5 John Henderson
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-1 Richard North
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Antonio Alcinas
Losers: £2,250

James Wilson 6-3 Jamie Caven
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Losers: £3,000

Jonny Clayton 6-1 James Wilson
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Jonny Clayton claims maiden ranking title at Players Championship 22

Jonny Clayton became the latest new winner of a PDC title as he defeated James Wilson 6-1 to secure the final Players Championship title of the year in Barnsley on Wednesday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages