Max Hopp doubles ranking title tally at Players Championship 19

German ace Hopp celebrates (credit:PDC Europe)

Max Hopp claimed his second PDC ranking title of the year at Players Championship 19 in Dublin, denying Madars Razma 6-3 in the final.

Hopp, who opened his account at the German Darts Open in April, continued a landmark season in his career by securing the £10,000 top prize at the Citywest Hotel.

The 22-year-old denied Razma a fairy-tale first PDC title after he had become the first Latvian to reach a PDC ranking final.

"I'm amazed, this morning I never would've imagined winning this title," admitted Hopp, who will make his World Grand Prix debut against Dave Chisnall on Sunday evening.

"Maybe the experience of winning the European Tour title earlier in the year was the difference in the final.

"Everyone was worried that I could be a one-hit wonder and I would never win another title, which is hard to handle but I proved today it was not a one-off.

"I'm still very young and I'm not consistent but it's a great feeling to come out on top of 128 great players.

"Simon Whitlock put his points in my darts after an exhibition we did in Frankfurt and I need to thank him for that."

Hopp began his march to victory with a 6-2 win over Alan Norris, before dispatching Davy van Baelen 6-4 and top 16 star Darren Webster 6-2.

He then thrashed Jamie Hughes 6-1 in the Last 16 and went on to edge out Jermaine Wattimena in a deciding leg and see off James Wilson 6-3 to confirm his place in the final.

The first four legs on the final were shared on throw before Hopp followed up a 180 with double 16 to move 3-2 ahead.

Two missed darts at doubles from Hopp in leg six allowed Razma to level on double eight before a 64 finish saw the German regain control.

The crucial break came in leg eight as Hopp punished six missed darts at doubles from the Latvian to go 5-3 ahead before holding in the next leg to seal glory.

Razma's previous best run in a PDC event came at the same venue 12 months ago - when he reached the Semi-Finals - and the 30-year-old went one better upon his return.

He began the day with a 6-2 win over Peter Hudson before defeating Danny Noppert 6-4, Gerwyn Price 6-3 and Ronny Huybrects 6-5 to reach the Quarter-Finals.

There, he pulled off a huge upset by dumping out tournament favourite Michael van Gerwen in a last-leg decider after the world number one had come from 4-2 to send it all the way.

Razma then followed up that scalp with a 6-2 win over a resurgent Andrew Gilding to confirm his final berth.

The day also Van Gerwen and George Killington each produce a nine-dart finish, with MVG's coming in his Third Round win over Kyle Anderson and Killington's en route to a First Round victory over Jelle Klaasen.

Raymond van Barneveld's first ranking event appearance for two months ended in a Second Round defeat to Dutch compatriot Jimmy Hendriks, while Gary Anderson was beaten 6-5 by rival Van Gerwen in the Last 16 after missing a match dart at the bullseye.

Players Championship 19 Results

Friday September 28

First Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Ryan Searle
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Gary Eastwood
Kyle Anderson 6-0 Jim Brown
Cristo Reyes 6-2 Chris Dobey
Gary Anderson 6-5 Wayne Jones
Peter Jacques 6-5 Martin Schindler
Michael Barnard 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Adam Hunt 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Mick McGowan
Tytus Kanik 6-3 Robert Owen
Danny Noppert 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
Madars Razma 6-2 Peter Hudson
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Luke Humphries
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Devon Petersen
Steve Beaton 6-5 Mark Wilson
Mark Webster 6-5 Robert Thornton
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Michael Smith
Ross Smith 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Stephen Burton
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Aden Kirk 6-4 John Part
Steve West 6-3 Robert Marijanovic
George Killington 6-5 Jelle Klaasen - *Killington hits a nine-darter*
Ian White 6-0 Vincent van der Voort
Simon Stevenson 6-1 Alan Tabern
Cameron Menzies 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Jamie Bain 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Joe Cullen 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Steve Hine
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Mervyn King
Paul Nicholson 6-3 Richie Burnett
Rob Cross 6-2 Kevin Painter
Adam Huckvale 6-5 Jason Cullen
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Keegan Brown
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Prakash Jiwa
James Wilson 6-0 Ross Twell
Maik Langendorf 6-1 Tony Newell
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Ryan Joyce
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Ted Evetts 6-0 Eddie Dootson
Ricky Evans 6-3 Justin Pipe
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dawson Murschell 6-3 James Wade
Ryan Harrington 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
John Henderson 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
James Richardson 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 John Norman Jnr
Jan Dekker 6-5 William O'Connor
Steve Lennon 6-3 Lee Bryant
Arron Monk 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Christian Kist
Joe Murnan 6-3 Toni Alcinas
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Jamie Caven
Chris Quantock 6-2 Jarred Cole
Peter Wright 6-3 Terry Temple
Scott Taylor 6-0 Bradley Brooks
Darren Johnson 6-2 Josh Payne
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Darren Webster 6-3 Paul Rowley
Mario Robbe 6-1 Richard North
Max Hopp 6-2 Alan Norris
Davy Van Baelen 6-2 Kevin Burness

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Cristo Reyes
Gary Anderson 6-4 Peter Jacques
Michael Barnard 6-4 Adam Hunt
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Tytus Kanik
Madars Razma 6-4 Danny Noppert
Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Jonny Clayton
Steve Beaton 6-5 Mark Webster
Ross Smith 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-2 Aden Kirk
Steve West 6-3 George Killington
Simon Stevenson 6-2 Ian White
Cameron Menzies 6-4 Jamie Bain
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Joe Cullen
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Paul Nicholson
Rob Cross 6-1 Adam Huckvale
Jimmy Hendriks 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
James Wilson 6-5 Maik Langendorf
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ted Evetts
Ricky Evans 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Ryan Harrington 6-1 Dawson Murschell
John Henderson 6-5 James Richardson
Jan Dekker 6-0 Mensur Suljovic
Steve Lennon 6-5 Arron Monk
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Joe Murnan
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Chris Quantock
Peter Wright 6-0 Scott Taylor
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Darren Johnson
Darren Webster 6-2 Mario Robbe
Max Hopp 6-4 Davy Van Baelen
Losers: £500

Last 32
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Kyle Anderson - *MVG hits a nine-darter*
Gary Anderson 6-5 Michael Barnard
Madars Razma 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Ronny Huybrechts 6-4 Steve Beaton
Ross Smith 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Steve West 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf
Simon Stevenson 6-4 Cameron Menzies
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Rob Cross 6-3 Jimmy Hendriks
James Wilson 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Ricky Evans
John Henderson 6-4 Ryan Harrington
Steve Lennon 6-5 Jan Dekker
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Peter Wright
Max Hopp 6-2 Darren Webster
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Gary Anderson
Madars Razma 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Steve West 6-0 Ross Smith
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Simon Stevenson
James Wilson 6-4 Rob Cross
Adrian Lewis 6-4 John Henderson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Steve Lennon
Max Hopp 6-1 Jamie Hughes
Losers: £1,500

Madars Razma 6-5 Michael van Gerwen
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Steve West
James Wilson 6-2 Adrian Lewis
Max Hopp 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £2,250

Madars Razma 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Max Hopp 6-3 James Wilson
Losers: £3,000

Max Hopp 6-3 Madars Razma
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Max Hopp doubles ranking title tally at Players Championship 19

Max Hopp claimed his second PDC ranking title of the year at Players Championship 19 in Dublin, denying Madars Razma 6-3 in the final.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages