Danny Noppert claims first ranking title at Players Championship 20

Dutch ace Noppert celebrates (credit:Chris Dean/PDC)

Danny Noppert picked up his first PDC title at Players Championship 20 in Dublin courtesy of a 6-4 victory over Ian White in the final on Saturday.

Noppert, who earned a Tour Card at Qualifying School in January, enjoyed a breakthrough moment in his career at the Citywest Hotel as he secured the £10,000 title.

The former Lakeside finalist reached the Semi-Finals of the International Open a fortnight ago and continued his fine run of form to become the latest first-time winner of a PDC ranking tournament.

"I'm really happy with my performance today," said Noppert. "I'm always working to get my level higher.

"It's all about believing in yourself which I do and now I'm looking forward to playing in the World Grand Prix.

"I'm from the BDO, now I'm with the PDC with the big guys and it's unbelievable to beat them at this level.

"Everything is new for me, I'm only looking forward and I'm going to enjoy every event I play in."

Noppert began his run with a 6-3 victory over Gary Eastwood before seeing off Mark Dudbridge 6-2 and Davy van Baelen 6-3 to reach the Last 16.

There, he overcame in-form Ricky Evans 6-4 with a 100 average before ending the run of Chris Quantock with a 6-3 Quarter-Final success.

The Dutch ace then completed his run to the final with a superb 6-3 victory over Rob Cross, averaging 104.7 to dispatch the World Champion.

Noppert took the initiative in the final with a 72 finish before following up with an 88 checkout to double his lead.

White halved the deficit with double eight but missed two darts at doubles in leg four to allow Noppert to pounce with a 79 finish and make it 3-1.

Noppert posted double 12 to go further ahead, and though White pegged back, he was left to rue a missed single 18 on a 122 checkout in the following leg as Noppert punished with tops to go 5-2 up.

White responded well with a 72 finish for a 14-darter and a 120 checkout to apply the pressure, but Noppert took out 75 to seal victory.

White was appearing in his fifth ranking final of the season, having defeated Jimmy Hendriks 6-5, Nathan Aspinall 6-2 and Kyle Anderson 6-2 to reach the Last 16.

The Stoke then whitewashed Ron Meulenkamp with a 105 average before dismantling Mensur Suljovic 6-1 and denying Keegan Brown 6-3 to progress to the final.

The day began in dramatic fashion as tournament favourite Michael van Gerwen suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of Martin Schindler, with the German averaging 102.3 to MVG's 104.

Peter Hudson produced a nine-dart finish in his First Round clash with Daryl Gurney, but it was not enough to avert a 6-4 defeat to the World Grand Prix champion - who missed double 12 for a perfect leg of his own in the same match.

Michael Smith averaged 115 in a 6-0 whitewash of Jamie Hughes in Round Two, while Rob Cross also averaged 115 in a Last 16 whitewash of Joe Cullen.

Players Championship 20 Results

Saturday September 29

First Round
Martin Schindler 6-5 Michael van Gerwen
Dawson Murschell 6-1 Richie Burnett
Andrew Gilding 6-0 Chris Dobey
Andy Boulton 6-0 Ross Twell
James Wilson 6-4 Devon Petersen
Mark Webster 6-3 Cristo Reyes
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
Chris Quantock 6-5 Lee Bryant
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Mick McGowan 6-1 Kevin Burness
Ricky Evans 6-1 Simon Stevenson
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 George Killington
Davy Van Baelen 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Ryan Searle 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Danny Noppert 6-3 Gary Eastwood
Mark Dudbridge 6-3 Joe Murnan
Michael Smith 6-4 Alan Tabern
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Adam Hunt
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Vincent Kamphuis
Mario Robbe 6-3 Jamie Caven
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Peter Hudson
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Paul Rowley 6-5 Benito van de Pas
Rob Cross 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Kevin Painter 6-3 Tytus Kanik
Josh Payne 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Wayne Jones 6-5 Stephen Burton
Joe Cullen 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Tony Newell 6-4 Madars Razma
Mervyn King 6-0 Terry Temple
Matthew Edgar 6-2 Luke Humphries
Ian White 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Robert Marijanovic
Kyle Anderson 6-2 Ted Evetts
Cameron Menzies 6-5 Ross Smith
Darren Webster 6-2 Aden Kirk
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dave Chisnall 6-1 James Richardson
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Christian Kist
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Arron Monk 6-2 Toni Alcinas
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Jan Dekker
Terry Jenkins 6-2 Justin Pipe
James Wade 6-5 Mark Wilson
Paul Nicholson 6-0 Jamie Lewis
Michael Barnard 6-5 Steve Beaton
Richard North 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Alan Norris
Peter Jacques 6-3 Scott Taylor
Steve Lennon 6-4 William O'Connor
John Norman Jnr 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Robert Thornton 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Maik Langendorf 6-3 Jason Cullen
John Henderson 6-5 Jim Brown
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Steve Hine
Peter Wright 6-1 Jamie Bain
Robert Owen 6-2 John Part
Keegan Brown 6-4 Darren Johnson
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-2 Jarred Cole
Max Hopp 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Ronny Huybrechts 6-2 Adam Huckvale
Steve West 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Ryan Harrington

Last 64
Martin Schindler 6-5 Dawson Murschell
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Andy Boulton
Mark Webster 6-5 James Wilson
Chris Quantock 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-2 Mick McGowan
Ricky Evans 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Davy Van Baelen 6-4 Ryan Searle
Danny Noppert 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Michael Smith 6-0 Jamie Hughes
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Mario Robbe
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Paul Rowley
Rob Cross 6-5 Kevin Painter
Wayne Jones 6-3 Josh Payne
Joe Cullen 6-4 Tony Newell
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Mervyn King
Ian White 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Kyle Anderson 6-0 Cameron Menzies
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Darren Webster
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Arron Monk
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Terry Jenkins
Paul Nicholson 6-5 James Wade
Michael Barnard 6-4 Richard North
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Peter Jacques
Steve Lennon 6-2 John Norman Jnr
Robert Thornton 6-3 Maik Langendorf
Mickey Mansell 6-4 John Henderson
Robert Owen 6-5 Peter Wright
Keegan Brown 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Max Hopp
Steve West 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Losers: £500

Last 32
Andrew Gilding 6-1 Martin Schindler
Chris Quantock 6-2 Mark Webster
Ricky Evans 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Danny Noppert 6-3 Davy Van Baelen
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Michael Smith
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Rob Cross 6-1 Wayne Jones
Joe Cullen 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Ian White 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Michael Barnard 6-5 Paul Nicholson
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Steve Lennon
Robert Thornton 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Keegan Brown 6-4 Robert Owen
Steve West 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Chris Quantock 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Danny Noppert 6-4 Ricky Evans
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Rob Cross 6-0 Joe Cullen
Ian White 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Michael Barnard
Robert Thornton 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Keegan Brown 6-4 Steve West
Losers: £1,500

Danny Noppert 6-3 Chris Quantock
Rob Cross 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Ian White 6-1 Mensur Suljovic
Keegan Brown 6-5 Robert Thornton
Losers: £2,250

Danny Noppert 6-3 Rob Cross
Ian White 6-3 Keegan Brown
Losers: £3,000

Danny Noppert 6-4 Ian White
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Danny Noppert claims first ranking title at Players Championship 20

Danny Noppert picked up his first PDC title at Players Championship 20 in Dublin courtesy of a 6-4 victory over Ian White in the final on Saturday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages