Mickey Mansell claims first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Eight

Clonoe ace Mansell celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Mickey Mansell became the latest first-time winner of a PDC ranking event as he triumphed at Players Championship Eight in Barnsley with a 6-4 victory over Adrian Lewis in the final on Sunday.

The 44-year-old enjoyed a watershed moment in his career as he clinched the £10,000 top prize, dropping just 11 legs in his seven wins en route to glory.

The Northern Irishman, world ranked 76, kick-started his charge with back-to-back whitewashes of Kim Huybrechts and Gary Eastwood before thrashing Alan Norris 6-1.

He then whitewashed former UK Open and World Grand Prix champion Robert Thornton in the Last 16 before overcoming a resurgent Gerwyn Price 6-3 in the Quarter-Finals and ending the landmark run of Josh Payne to seal his spot in the final.

The opening two legs of the final were shared, and after Mansell took out 69 to move ahead, Lewis finished double ten to restore parity.

An 80 checkout from Mansell was cancelled out by an 83 finish on the bullseye from Lewis, though the left-hander edged back ahead courtesy of a superb 100 checkout.

Lewis landed double ten to square it up at four apiece, an after taking out 76 to move to the verge of victory, Mansell held firm to seal leg ten and get over the line.

"I know I can play well but the problem is consistency," said Mansell. "Everyone here can beat everyone else but it’s consistency that separates the top guys from the rest.

"Believe it or not but I think the best game I played was the first one against Kim [Huybrechts], it set me up for the rest of the day, I put him under pressure and thought that was the best I played all day."

Mansell, who had not made a Players Championship Semi-Final since 2010, also discussed how experience played a part in his victory.

He added: "I've had some great results against the top players before so I've got the experience and I've got that mentality that I know I can beat them.

"I've been struggling, there's no point saying anything different but it would have been great to say I made the final but to win it over all the amazing players is incredible."

Lewis was appearing in his second final of the weekend but was again forced to settle for the runner-up spot, extending his wait for a first ranking title since last April.

Payne, 24, won through to his first senior PDC ranking Semi-Final, defeating the likes of Jamie Caven, Martin Schindler, Andrew Gilding, Max Hopp and Toni Alcinas along the way.

Mark Webster won through to his first ranking Quarter-Final for 12 months, recording an impressive 6-3 defeat of Raymond van Barneveld with a 102 average in the process.

Gary Anderson suffered a deciding leg defeat to Scottish compatriot Robert Thornton in the Last 32, while Peter Wright went down 6-4 to Van Barneveld in the Second Round.

Players Championship Eight Results

Saturday April 8

First Round 
Peter Wright 6-3 Wayne Jones
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 James Richardson
Steve West 6-3 Joe Murnan
Simon Preston 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Steve Lennon 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Tony Newell
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Robert Owen
Mark Webster 6-1 Terry Jenkins
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Jason Cullen
Darren Johnson 6-4 Jarred Cole
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 John Davey
Michael Barnard 6-1 John Goldie
Alan Tabern 6-5 Mervyn King
Aden Kirk 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Benito van de Pas 6-4 Steve Hine
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Ross Smith
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Jan Dekker
Mario Robbe 6-3 Mick McGowan
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Bradley Brooks
Devon Petersen 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Robert Marijanovic 6-3 Darren Webster
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Dennis Nilsson
James Wilson 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Dawson Murschell 6-2 Jamie Bain
Joe Cullen 6-0 Terry Temple
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Maik Langendorf
Keegan Brown 6-5 Ted Evetts
Jimmy Hendriks 6-3 Paul Rowley
Stephen Bunting 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Luke Humphries 6-2 George Killington
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Ross Twell
Michael Smith 6-1 Vincent Kamphuis
Jamie Lewis 6-3 Ronnie Baxter
Madars Razma 6-5 Chris Dobey
Chris Quantock 6-4 John Part
James Wade 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Danny Noppert 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Prakash Jiwa 6-4 Jose Justicia
Gary Anderson 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Robbie Green 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Robert Thornton 6-0 Kevin Painter
Kevin Burness 6-3 Ryan Harrington
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Kim Huybrechts
Gary Eastwood 6-5 Scott Taylor
Alan Norris 6-4 Sven Groen
Tytus Kanik 6-4 Scott Darbyshire
Ian White 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Max Hopp 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Justin Pipe 6-3 Arron Monk
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Stephen Burton
Andrew Gilding 6-3 John Henderson
Martin Atkins 6-4 Adam Huckvale
Martin Schindler 6-4 Richard North
Josh Payne 6-3 Jamie Caven
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Mark Wilson
Toni Alcinas 6-5 Ryan Searle
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Adam Hunt 6-3 Peter Jacques
Christian Kist 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Ricky Evans 6-2 Diogo Portela
Steve Beaton 6-2 Jim Brown
Peter Hudson 6-2 Ryan Meikle

Second Round
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Peter Wright
Steve West 6-4 Simon Preston
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Steve Lennon
Mark Webster 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Darren Johnson
Michael Barnard 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Alan Tabern 6-3 Aden Kirk
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Benito van de Pas
Mario Robbe 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Devon Petersen 6-4 Cristo Reyes
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Robert Marijanovic
James Wilson 6-5 Dawson Murschell
Joe Cullen 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Keegan Brown 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks
Luke Humphries 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Jamie Lewis 6-2 Michael Smith
Madars Razma 6-4 Chris Quantock
Danny Noppert 6-4 James Wade
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Gary Anderson 6-1 Robbie Green
Robert Thornton 6-1 Kevin Burness
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Gary Eastwood
Alan Norris 6-1 Tytus Kanik
Max Hopp 6-4 Ian White
Justin Pipe 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Martin Atkins
Josh Payne 6-3 Martin Schindler
Toni Alcinas 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Adam Hunt 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Ricky Evans 6-3 Christian Kist
Steve Beaton 6-3 Peter Hudson
Losers: £500

Last 32
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Steve West
Mark Webster 6-1 Zoran Lerchbacher
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Michael Barnard
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Alan Tabern
Mario Robbe 6-5 Devon Petersen
James Wilson 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Keegan Brown 6-3 Joe Cullen
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Luke Humphries
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Danny Noppert
Robert Thornton 6-5 Gary Anderson
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Alan Norris
Max Hopp 6-4 Justin Pipe
Josh Payne 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Toni Alcinas 6-5 Adam Hunt
Ricky Evans 6-2 Steve Beaton
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Mark Webster 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Ryan Joyce
James Wilson 6-5 Mario Robbe
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Keegan Brown
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Robert Thornton
Josh Payne 6-3 Max Hopp
Toni Alcinas 6-2 Ricky Evans
Losers: £1,500

Simon Whitlock 6-3 Mark Webster
Adrian Lewis 6-2 James Wilson
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Josh Payne 6-5 Toni Alcinas
Losers: £2,250

Adrian Lewis 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Josh Payne
Losers: £3,000

Mickey Mansell 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Mickey Mansell claims first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Eight

Mickey Mansell became the latest first-time winner of a PDC ranking event as he triumphed at Players Championship Eight in Barnsley with a 6-4 victory over Adrian Lewis in the final on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages