Vintage Steve Beaton claims Players Championship 13 title

Beaton confirms his place in July's World Matchplay (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Steve Beaton rolled back the years to claim Players Championship glory in Wigan with a 6-3 victory over Gary Anderson in the final on Saturday.

Beaton, the 1996 Lakeside Champion, produced a series of vintage displays on the way to securing a third career PDC title and a first for four years.

The 53-year-old kick-started his charge with a 6-0 whitewash of Matthew Dennant, before overcoming Keegan Brown 6-4 and Robert Owen 6-2.

Beaton then defeated Premier League star Dave Chisnall 6-4 before whitewashing former world finalist Kirk Shepherd 6-0 to reach the Semi-Finals - where he denied in-form Rob Cross with a 6-3 triumph.

Beaton began the final in majestic fashion with a 125 checkout to clinch the opening leg, before firing in a 180 and tops for a 12-darter to double his advantage.

The Bronzed Adonis extended his lead via double 16, before Anderson got off the mark with a 12-darter in leg four.

Anderson landed a fourth maximum but only for Beaton to convert tops for 4-1, though the Scot replied with a 65 finish to stay in touch.

Double eight moved Beaton to the brink of victory, and though Anderson took out 68 in leg eight, Beaton finished the job on tops in the following leg to confirm a memorable victory.

"Today has been my day," said Beaton. "I played really well all day and got the dividends at the end of it.

"Everybody wants to win but maybe I just tried harder than everyone else today.

"You've got to fight for every game and you've always got to be on your toes and playing well otherwise you're on your way home.

"To be still competing is brilliant, I love darts. I try my heart out and today made up for so many years," he added.

Anderson's run to the final saw him edge out Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 before powering past his protege Adam Hunt 6-2.

The two-time World Champion then dispatched Harry Robinson 6-4 before defeating another of his young stablemates Michael Smith 6-2.

Anderson then dropped just one leg in advancing to the final as he whitewashed Kim Huybrechts 6-0 before thrashing Daryl Gurney 6-1.

Beaton denied Cross his third Players Championship final appearance of the season, while Gurney also fell one win short of his third final.

The likes of Alan Norris, James Wade and Benito van de Pas were among the notable First Round casualties, while Kirk Shepherd and Robert Thornton enjoyed resurgent runs to the Quarter-Finals.

The 128-man field will return to action on Sunday for a further Players Championship event at the Robin Park Tennis Centre, with a £10,000 top prize up for grabs.

Players Championship 13 Results

Saturday June 17

Round One
Peter Wright 6-5 Aden Kirk
Steve Hine 6-1 Terry Roach
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Andy Boulton 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse
Rob Cross 6-2 Jan Dekker
Vincent Kamphuis 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Mervyn King 6-4 Kevin Painter
Ryan Searle 6-4 Steve Lennon
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Alan Norris
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Michael Rasztovits
Robert Thornton 6-2 Ronnie Baxter
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Brian Woods
Tony Newell 6-2 Haruki Muramatsu
Darren Johnson 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Jim Brown
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Mick Todd
James Richardson 6-2 Mark Barilli
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Chris Dobey
Matt Clark 6-2 Peter Jacques
Joe Cullen 6-4 Ricky Evans
Robert Owen 6-4 Diogo Portela
Steve Beaton 6-0 Matthew Dennant
Keegan Brown 6-4 Mark Walsh
Ian White 6-1 Paul Rowley
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Sven Groen
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Callan Rydz
William O'Connor 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Cristo Reyes
Paul Harvey 6-4 Chris Quantock
James Wilson 6-3 Warrick Scheffer
Mike De Decker 6-3 Dennis Smith
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Mark Webster
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 David Pallett
Berry van Peer 6-2 Robbie Green
Paul Nicholson 6-2 Devon Petersen
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Richie Burnett
Richard North 6-4 Peter Hudson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 James Wade
Ted Evetts 6-1 John Bowles
Richie Corner 6-5 Benito van de Pas
Joe Murnan 6-5 Scott Taylor
Darren Webster 6-2 Simon Preston
Ross Twell 6-5 Ryan Palmer
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Josh Payne
John Michael 6-1 Scott Darbyshire
Christian Kist 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Terry Temple 6-2 Shaun Griffiths
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Ricky Williams
Jamie Caven 6-5 Darron Brown
John Henderson 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Madars Razma 6-3 Bryan de Hoog
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks
Wes Newton 6-1 Jamie Bain
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Stuart Kellett 6-4 Martin Schindler
Michael Smith 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Wayne Jones
Justin Pipe 6-3 Maik Langendorf
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Mick McGowan
Gary Anderson 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Adam Hunt 6-5 Ray Campbell
Harry Robinson 6-0 Steve West
Stephen Burton 6-5 Simon Stevenson

Round Two
Peter Wright 6-1 Steve Hine
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Andy Boulton
Rob Cross 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Mervyn King 6-2 Ryan Searle
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Robert Thornton 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Tony Newell 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Darren Johnson 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Dave Chisnall 6-1 James Richardson
Matt Clark 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Robert Owen 6-5 Joe Cullen
Steve Beaton 6-4 Keegan Brown
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Ian White
Jonny Clayton 6-2 William O'Connor
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Paul Harvey
Mike De Decker 6-1 James Wilson
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Antonio Alcinas
Paul Nicholson 6-5 Berry van Peer
Richard North 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Ted Evetts 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Richie Corner 6-4 Joe Murnan
Darren Webster 6-3 Ross Twell
Daryl Gurney 6-4 John Michael
Terry Temple 6-1 Christian Kist
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Jamie Caven
John Henderson 6-5 Madars Razma
Wes Newton 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Stuart Kellett 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Michael Smith 6-4 Andy Hamilton
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Justin Pipe
Gary Anderson 6-2 Adam Hunt
Harry Robinson 6-0 Stephen Burton
Losers: £500

Round Three
Peter Wright 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Rob Cross 6-1 Mervyn King
Robert Thornton 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Tony Newell 6-3 Darren Johnson
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Matt Clark
Steve Beaton 6-2 Robert Owen
Jamie Lewis 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Kirk Shepherd 6-1 Mike De Decker
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Paul Nicholson
Richard North 6-4 Ted Evetts
Darren Webster 6-5 Richie Corner
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Terry Temple
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 John Henderson
Stuart Kellett 6-2 Wes Newton
Michael Smith 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Gary Anderson 6-4 Harry Robinson
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Rob Cross 6-4 Peter Wright
Robert Thornton 6-3 Tony Newell
Steve Beaton 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Richard North
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Darren Webster
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Stuart Kellett
Gary Anderson 6-2 Michael Smith
Losers: £1,500

Rob Cross 6-1 Robert Thornton
Steve Beaton 6-0 Kirk Shepherd
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Gary Anderson 6-0 Kim Huybrechts
Losers: £2,250

Steve Beaton 6-3 Rob Cross
Gary Anderson 6-1 Daryl Gurney
Losers: £3,000

Steve Beaton 6-3 Gary Anderson
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Vintage Steve Beaton claims Players Championship 13 title

Steve Beaton rolled back the years to claim Players Championship glory in Wigan with a 6-3 victory over Gary Anderson in the final on Saturday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages