Gary Anderson adds to Players Championship title tally in Wigan

Anderson continues his blistering run of form (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Gary Anderson claimed his third Players Championship title of 2017 with a 6-1 rout of Ian White in the final of event 14 in Wigan on Sunday.

The world number two lost out to Steve Beaton in Saturday's final but went one step further upon his return to the Robin Park Sports Centre as he romped to the £10,000 top prize.

Anderson was given an early scare by Mickey Mansell in the opening round as he edged a last-leg decider, before defeating Harry Robinson 6-4 in Round Two.

The Scottish sensation then recorded back-to-back 6-2 wins over Kyle Anderson and Dirk van Duijvenbode before thrashing Richard North 6-1 to reach the Semi-Finals.

There, he overcame form horse Rob Cross 6-4 to progress to his fourth ProTour final of the campaign.

Anderson immediately seized the initiative in the final as he raced into a 3-0 lead, hitting double eight, an 84 finish and double nine.

White landed double eight to get off the mark, but Anderson responded emphatically by reeling off the next three legs to wrap up victory.

"These tournaments are hard work and it's absolutely baking in here, so it's really good to get the win," said Anderson.

"Steve was fantastic yesterday and it was my turn today. I love it when the old boys stand up and show everyone what we can do. 

"We are still doing the business and the young guys aren't quite there yet," he added.

Stoke ace White enjoyed a run to a second Players Championship final of the season but was again forced to settle for second prize.

He began his charge with a 6-4 defeat of Simon Stevenson, before powering past South Africa's Warrick Scheffer 6-1 and emerging star Josh Payne 6-2.

White then avenged his UK Open defeat to Gerwyn Price by running out a 6-2 winner, before battling back from 5-2 down to deny Jeffrey de Zwaan in a last-leg decider and sealed his spot in the final with a 6-3 victory over Robert Thornton.

Thornton was appearing in only his second ranking Semi-Final of the season, while De Zwaan and North both equalled their best ever runs on the main circuit by reaching the Quarter-Finals.

Players Championship 14 Results

Sunday June 18

First Round 
Peter Wright 6-4 Paul Harvey
Peter Hudson 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Andrew Gilding
John Bowles 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Peter Jacques 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Ricky Williams 6-4 Ted Evetts
Mark Webster 6-4 Mervyn King
Adam Hunt 6-5 Jamie Caven
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Darren Webster 6-3 Diogo Portela
William O'Connor 6-5 James Richardson
Alan Norris 6-3 Scott Darbyshire
Martin Schindler 6-0 Jim Brown
Robert Thornton 6-0 Sven Groen
Mark Barilli 6-5 Paul Nicholson
Ian White 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Warrick Scheffer 6-3 Jan Dekker
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Josh Payne 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Gerwyn Price 6-2 John Michael
Ryan Searle 6-1 Maik Langendorf
James Wilson 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Richie Corner 6-1 Haruki Muramatsu
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Mike De Decker
Simon Preston 6-3 Bryan de Hoog
Justin Pipe 6-5 Keegan Brown
Mick Todd 6-2 Ray Campbell
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Joe Cullen
Steve Lennon 6-3 Ross Twell
Devon Petersen 6-5 Steve West
David Pallett 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Ricky Evans
Mark Walsh 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Robbie Green 6-1 Callan Rydz
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Rob Cross 6-1 Paul Rowley
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Terry Roach
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Steve Beaton
Richie Burnett 6-2 Darren Johnson
Steve Hine 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Brian Woods 6-5 Chris Quantock
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Stephen Burton
Wayne Jones 6-2 Darron Brown
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Andy Boulton
Kevin Painter 6-1 Aden Kirk
Joe Murnan 6-3 Christian Kist
Dennis Smith 6-4 Prakash Jiwa
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Stuart Kellett
Jimmy Hendriks 6-5 Terry Temple
John Henderson 6-3 Wes Newton
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-0 Scott Taylor
Gary Anderson 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Harry Robinson 6-4 Robert Owen
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Ronnie Baxter
Berry van Peer 6-4 Madars Razma
Michael Smith 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Jamie Bain 6-1 Matt Clark
Chris Dobey 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Ryan Palmer
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Tony Newell
Richard North 6-2 Mick McGowan
James Wade 6-1 Shaun Griffiths
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Jamie Lewis

Second Round
Peter Wright 6-0 Peter Hudson
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 John Bowles
Peter Jacques 6-5 Ricky Williams
Mark Webster 6-2 Adam Hunt
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Darren Webster 6-3 William O'Connor
Martin Schindler 6-5 Alan Norris
Robert Thornton 6-5 Mark Barilli
Ian White 6-1 Warrick Scheffer
Josh Payne 6-1 Brendan Dolan
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Ryan Searle
Richie Corner 6-5 James Wilson
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Simon Preston
Justin Pipe 6-0 Mick Todd
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Steve Lennon
David Pallett 6-5 Devon Petersen
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Mark Walsh
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Robbie Green
Rob Cross 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Antonio Alcinas 6-5 Richie Burnett
Steve Hine 6-4 Brian Woods
Wayne Jones 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Daryl Gurne 6-5 Kevin Painter
Joe Murnan 6-2 Dennis Smith
Jimmy Hendriks 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 John Henderson
Gary Anderson 6-4 Harry Robinson
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Berry van Peer
Jamie Bain 6-2 Michael Smith
Chris Dobey 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Richard North 6-5 Cristo Reyes
James Wade 6-1 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £500

Third Round
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Peter Wright
Mark Webster 6-3 Peter Jacques
Darren Webster 6-1 Yordi Meeuwisse
Robert Thornton 6-4 Martin Schindler
Ian White 6-2 Josh Payne
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Richie Corner
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Justin Pipe
Jeffrey de Zwaan  6-3 David Pallett
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Rob Cross 6-4 Antonio Alcinas
Wayne Jones 6-1 Steve Hine
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Joe Murnan
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Gary Anderson 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Jamie Bain 6-5 Chris Dobey
Richard North 6-5 James Wade
Losers £1,000

Last 16
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Mark Webster
Robert Thornton 6-3 Darren Webster
Ian White 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Rob Cross 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Wayne Jones
Gary Anderson 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Richard North 6-4 Jamie Bain
Losers: £1,500

Robert Thornton 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Ian White 6-5 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Rob Cross 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Gary Anderson 6-1 Richard North
Losers: £2,250

Ian White 6-3 Robert Thornton
Gary Anderson 6-4 Rob Cross
Losers: £3,000

Gary Anderson 6-1 Ian White
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Gary Anderson adds to Players Championship title tally in Wigan

Gary Anderson claimed his third Players Championship title of 2017 with a 6-1 rout of Ian White in the final of event 14 in Wigan on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages