Nine-dart Kyle Anderson opens PDC ranking title account in Barnsley

Aussie ace Anderson celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Kyle Anderson claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship 17 courtesy of a 6-2 victory over Kevin Painter in the final on Saturday.

A landmark day for the Australian ace saw him produce a nine-dart finish en route to the final, before going on to secure the £10,000 top prize at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Anderson, a three-time major quarter-finalist, began his charge with a 6-3 victory over Tony Newell, before holding his nerve to edge out Nathan Aspinall in a last-leg decider.

He then overcame youngster Ryan Meikle 6-1 before registering a perfect leg in a 6-3 defeat of Ronny Huybrechts in the Last 16.

Anderson completed his run to the final with back-to-back 6-3 victories over Stephen Bunting and Michael Smith.

The world number 29 began the final in superb fashion with a 148 checkout to clinch the opening leg, before firing in successive 64 finishes to move 3-0 ahead.

A 108 checkout extended 'The Original's' lead, and after Painter had missed one dart at double 13 in leg five, the Aussie stepped in for double 14 to go one away from the winning line.

Painter got off the mark in style with a 124 checkout on the bull and doubled his tally by hitting double ten in the seventh leg.

Anderson, though, ended any hopes of a Painter comeback by sealing the deal in leg eight and admitted: "Today it all came together.

"I said to myself, I have to take the chances I make for myself and today I took my chance.

"I've never doubted myself, everybody on the tour can do what I did today and it's the ones who don't get nervous who come through in the end."

Painter enjoyed a fine run to his first ranking final for almost four years, opening up with a 6-2 defeat of Belgium's Mike de Decker.

The former world finalist then overcame Vincent van der Voort 6-4 before seeing off Jamie Lewis 6-4, with the Welshman having hit a nine-darter in his Second Round win over John Part.

Painter stepped up his charge with a 6-2 win over Mervyn King, before surviving three match darts from Gerwyn Price and taking out 110 in the deciding leg to squeeze through to the Semi-Finals.

The 2011 Players Champion completed his run with a 6-3 victory over Dutchman Jermaine Wattimena, hitting six 180s in the process.

Elsewhere, Holland's Yordi Meeuwisse equalled his best ever run in a PDC ranking event as he reached the Quarter-Finals, while Bunting and Justin Pipe continued their respective resurgences by also reaching the Last Eight.

Players Championship 17 Results

Saturday August 5

First Round
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Ricky Evans
Peter Hudson 6-1 Madars Razma
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Alan Tabern
Berry van Peer 6-4 William O'Connor
Darren Webster 6-3 Lee Bryant
Paul Harvey 6-5 Wes Newton
Steve Beaton 6-3 Max Hopp
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Robert Owen
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Scott Darbyshire
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Jamie Bain 6-4 Chris Dobey
Keegan Brown 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Joe Cullen 6-4 Darren Johnson
Matthew Edgar 6-3 Dennis Smith
Justin Pipe 6-5 Terry Temple
Callan Rydz 6-3 Jonathan Worsley
John Part 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Jamie Lewis 6-3 Josh Payne
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Jamie Caven
Kevin Painter 6-2 Mike De Decker
Mervyn King 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Warrick Scheffer 6-2 Steve Hine
Robert Thornton 6-2 Sven Groen
Chris Quantock 6-2 Brian Woods
Alan Norris 6-5 Andy Boulton
Steve Lennon 6-5 James Richardson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Peter Jacques 6-3 John Michael
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Andrew Gilding
David Pallett 6-3 Jim Walker
John Henderson 6-1 Richie Corner
Aden Kirk 6-1 Ray Campbell
Michael Smith 6-3 Jan Dekker
Richie Burnett 6-2 Jim Brown
Mark Webster 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Mark Walsh 6-3 Joe Murnan
James Wade 6-2 Bryan de Hoog
Ted Evetts 6-5 Mick McGowan
Devon Petersen 6-4 James Wilson
Harry Robinson 6-1 Wayne Jones
Jelle Klaasen 6-0 Michael Barnard
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-1 Vincent Kamphuis
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Stephen Burton
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Martin Schindler
Christian Kist 6-3 John Bowles
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Ian White
Matthew Dennant 6-3 Paul Nicholson
Ronny Huybrechts 6-2 Adam Hunt
Ryan Searle 6-2 Ross Twell
Rob Cross 6-0 Mick Todd
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Tony Newell
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Paul Rowley
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Maik Langendorf
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Matt Clark
Richard North 6-4 Robbie Green
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Simon Preston
Diogo Portela 6-3 Ryan Palmer
Steve West 6-3 Stuart Kellett
Scott Taylor 6-3 Antonio Alcinas

Second Round
Peter Hudson 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Berry van Peer
Darren Webster 6-5 Paul Harvey
Steve Beaton 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Keegan Brown 6-5 Jamie Bain
Joe Cullen 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Justin Pipe 6-3 Callan Rydz
Jamie Lewis 6-1 John Part
Kevin Painter 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Mervyn King 6-1 Warrick Scheffer
Chris Quantock 6-3 Robert Thornton
Steve Lennon 6-5 Alan Norris
Peter Jacques 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price 6-4 David Pallett
John Henderson 6-2 Aden Kirk
Michael Smith 6-3 Richie Burnett
Mark Walsh 6-5 Mark Webster
Ted Evetts 6-3 James Wade
Devon Petersen 6-5 Harry Robinson
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Christian Kist 6-1 Zoran Lerchbacher
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Ryan Searle
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Rob Cross
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Richard North
Stephen Bunting 6-0 Diogo Portela
Scott Taylor 6-5 Steve West
Losers: £500

Third Round
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Peter Hudson
Steve Beaton 6-2 Darren Webster
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Keegan Brown
Justin Pipe 6-3 Joe Cullen
Kevin Painter 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Mervyn King 6-1 Chris Quantock
Steve Lennon 6-2 Peter Jacques
Gerwyn Price 6-2 John Henderson
Michael Smith 6-3 Mark Walsh
Ted Evetts 6-5 Devon Petersen
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Christian Kist 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Scott Taylor
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Steve Beaton
Justin Pipe 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Kevin Painter 6-2 Mervyn King
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Steve Lennon
Michael Smith 6-4 Ted Evetts
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-5 Christian Kist
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Losers: £1,500

Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Justin Pipe
Kevin Painter 6-5 Gerwyn Price
Michael Smith 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Losers: £2,250

Kevin Painter 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Michael Smith
Losers: £3,000

Kyle Anderson 6-2 Kevin Painter
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Nine-dart Kyle Anderson opens PDC ranking title account in Barnsley

Kyle Anderson claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship 17 courtesy of a 6-2 victory over Kevin Painter in the final on Saturday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages