Dave Chisnall claims first ranking title of 2017 at Players Championship 18

Chisnall returns to the winner's circle in Barnsley (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Dave Chisnall secured his first PDC title of the season at Players Championship 18 after a 6-5 victory over Richard North in the final in Barnsley on Sunday.

Chisnall had finished runner-up in two events during the first half of the year but went one better at the Barnsley Metrodome by denying North a dream maiden triumph.

The world number six launched his title charge with a 6-0 whitewash of Darren Johnson, before edging out Dutchman Yordi Meeuwisse in a last-leg decider.

Chisnall held his nerve again to overcome Ritchie Edhouse 6-5, and after defeating Jelle Klaasen 6-3, 'Chizzy' prevailed in another decider, this time against Brendan Dolan.

The St Helens ace completed his run to the final with a 6-2 victory over Ryan Searle - who was appearing in only his second ProTour Semi-Final.

North found himself in uncharted territory after a landmark run which had seen him dispatch the likes of Ricky Evans, Joe Cullen and Stephen Bunting along the way.

And he began the final in commanding fashion, opening up an early 2-0 advantage before missing one dart at tops to allow Chisnall to take out 80 and halve the deficit.

North swiftly regained a two-leg cushion, but only for Chisnall to hit double eight and produce a 107 checkout to restore parity at three apiece.

A fourth maximum and a 76 finish saw North edge back ahead, though Chisnall responded with his first 180 and double four to level up once again.

North finished 100 to move to the verge of victory, but Chisnall dug deep to fire in a sensational 144 checkout to force a grandstand finish.

After North had registered a string of low scores, the Premier League star drew upon his vast experience to close out the victory for his twelfth career PDC ranking crown.

"He played well and was unlucky to be fair," admitted Chisnall. "He hit a few bad scores in the last leg and I just sneaked in.

"I said last week that I was looking forward to Barnsley and that I was going to win one of these, and I've done it so happy days."

Chisnall also becomes the thirteenth different winner in eighteen Players Championship events so far this season, while North's ground-breaking run moves him into a provisional qualifying spot for October's World Grand Prix.

Elsewhere, former Lakeside Champion Bunting enjoyed a resurgent run to the Last Four before missing one match dart at double top to end the hopes of North.

Republic of Ireland thrower William O'Connor defeated Kim Huybrechts on the way to the Quarter-Finals, while Northern Ireland's Brendan Dolan also reached the Last Eight.

Players Championship 18 Results

Sunday August 6

First Round
Michael Smith (BYE)
Ryan Meikle 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
Richard North 6-5 Ray Campbell
Ricky Evans 6-3 Peter Jacques
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Steve Beaton
Mick McGowan 6-4 John Bowles
Steve West 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Mark Walsh 6-3 Steve Hine
Ian White 6-1 Ryan Palmer
Richie Corner 6-2 Alan Tabern
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Antonio Alcinas 6-4 Matt Clark
Joe Cullen 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Mick Todd 6-0 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Paul Harvey 6-5 Chris Dobey
Vincent Kamphuis 6-2 Bryan de Hoog
James Richardson 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Aden Kirk 6-3 Wes Newton
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Ronnie Baxter
John Michael 6-5 Steve Lennon
Stephen Bunting 6-5 John Part
Paul Rowley4 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Justin Pipe 6-2 Peter Hudson
Max Hopp 6-1 Stephen Burton
Alan Norris 6-3 Martin Schindler
Brian Woods 6-5 Scott Darbyshire
Robbie Green 6-2 Josh Payne
Paul Nicholson 6-1 Jim Walker
James Wade 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Maik Langendorf 6-5 Trevor Burkhill
Christian Kist 6-3 Stuart Kellett
Madars Razma 6-1 David Pallett
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Andy Hamilton
Jan Dekker 6-2 Ross Twell
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Kevin Painter
Devon Petersen 6-2 Michael Barnard
Darren Webster 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Andy Boulton 6-2 Callan Rydz
Jamie Caven 6-5 James Wilson
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-4 Tony Newell
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Diogo Portela
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-3 Joe Murnan
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Dennis Smith
Jim Brown 6-4 Warrick Scheffer
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Darren Johnson
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-2 Luke Woodhouse
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Ronny Huybrechts
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Berry van Peer
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Jamie Bain
Terry Temple 6-2 Harry Robinson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Robert Owen
William O'Connor 6-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Rob Cross 6-3 Wayne Jones
Chris Quantock 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
John Henderson 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Adam Hunt 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Richie Burnett
Mike De Decker 6-5 Lee Bryant
Kirk Shepherd 6-1 Mark Webster
Simon Preston 6-2 Scott Taylor
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Ted Evetts
Keegan Brown 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Robert Thornton
Ryan Searle 6-1 Sven Groen

Second Round
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Michael Smith
Richard North 6-5 Ricky Evans
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Mick McGowan
Steve West 6-4 Mark Walsh
Ian White 6-1 Richie Corner
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Antonio Alcinas
Joe Cullen 6-1 Mick Todd
Paul Harvey 6-0 Vincent Kamphuis
James Richardson 6-3 Aden Kirk
John Michael 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Paul Rowley
Justin Pipe 6-4 Max Hopp
Alan Norris 6-0 Brian Woods
Robbie Green 6-3 Paul Nicholson
James Wade 6-1 Maik Langendorf
Christian Kist 6-5 Madars Razma
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jan Dekker
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Devon Petersen
Darren Webster 6-1 Andy Boulton
Jamie Caven 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jim Brown
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Terry Temple
William O'Connor 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Chris Quantock 6-2 Rob Cross
Adam Hunt 6-4 John Henderson
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Mike De Decker
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Simon Preston
Keegan Brown 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Ryan Searle 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Losers: £500

Third Round
Richard North 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Steve West 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Ian White
Joe Cullen 6-2 Paul Harvey
James Richardson 6-1 John Michael
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Justin Pipe
Alan Norris 6-5 Robbie Green
James Wade 6-5 Christian Kist
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Darren Webster 6-2 Jamie Caven
Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
William O'Connor 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Chris Quantock 6-5 Adam Hunt
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Ryan Searle 6-5 Keegan Brown
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Richard North 6-4 Steve West
Joe Cullen 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Stephen Bunting 6-2 James Richardson
Alan Norris 6-2 James Wade
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Darren Webster
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
William O'Connor 6-3 Chris Quantock
Ryan Searle 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Losers: £1,500

Richard North 6-3 Joe Cullen
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Alan Norris
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Ryan Searle 6-3 William O'Connor
Losers: £2,250

Richard North 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Ryan Searle
Losers: £3,000

Dave Chisnall 6-5 Richard North
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Dave Chisnall claims first ranking title of 2017 at Players Championship 18

Dave Chisnall secured his first PDC title of the season at Players Championship 18 after a 6-5 victory over Richard North in the final in Barnsley on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages