Tenacious James Wade takes Players Championship triumph in Barnsley

Premier League star Wade celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

James Wade claimed Sunday's Players Championship title with a resilient 6-5 victory over Peter Wright in the final in Barnsley, on a day which also witnessed two magical nine-darters.

Wade, who narrowly lost out in the final of Saturday's event to Gary Anderson, went one better as he edged out another Scotsman in Wright to claim the £10,000 top prize at the Metrodome.

The left-hander kick-started his run with a 6-2 victory over James Forster, before dispatching Jay Foreman - who took the place of an ill Michael van Gerwen - 6-3 in round two.

Wade then dispatched Austria's Mensur Suljovic 6-4, before holding his nerve to edge past Welshman Kevin Thomas in a last-leg decider.
The Machine then defied a high checkout of 156 and a 100 from Gerwyn Price to book his place in the Semi-Finals with a terrific 104.5 average, before replicating that standard in recovering from 4-2 down to defeat Michael Smith 6-4 for a place in the final.

It was Wright who began the final strongly by landing a 180 and double 16 to to clinch the opening leg, but only for Wade to hit back with a maximum of his own in levelling up.

A second maximum followed for Wright in leg three, but it was Wade who broke throw to lead 2-1, only for Wright to return the favour in the next leg.

Aldershot ace Wade was then punished for eight missed darts at doubles as Wright capitalised to regain the lead and pressed him his advantage in the sixth to make it 4-2.

However, a key 65 finish revitalised Wade's hopes, and he grabbed the momentum with an 81 checkout in the eighth to restore parity at four-all.

The multiple major champion followed it up with a 62 finish to lead again, but Wright stopped the rot with a fine 76 finish to force a dramatic decider at 5-5.

Pink predator Wright falls short in Barnsley (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Wade, though, emphasised his true grit by dictating on the scoring stakes in the decider on throw and closing out victory via his favourite double ten.

Wright's route to the final began in more testing circumstances as he narrowly defeated Alan Norris 6-5 in round one, before seeing off Jonny Clayton and Mark Webster.

Dutchman Jelle Klaasen would be Snakebite’s next victim as he ran out a comprehensive 6-1 winner, before the UK Open finalist was taken the distance for the third time as he defeated Robert Thornton 6-5 in the Quarter-Finals.

The Scottish star then held off a gallant challenge from recent UK Open semi-finalist Andrew Gilding to seal his spot in the final.

The day also saw 18-year-old Jeffrey de Zwaan and Tenerife's Cristo Reyes hit their first nine-darters on the PDC circuit, meaning that the Barnsley Metrodome played home to an incredible four perfect legs over the weekend.

Robert Thornton also wired double 12 for the holy grail in his last eight clash with Wright.

PDC Players Championship Two Results

Sunday March 15

First Round 
Gary Anderson 6-3 Wayne Jones
Brian Woods 6-5 Alan Tabern
Christian Kist 6-3 Dave Ladley
Mark Frost 6-5 Keegan Brown
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Gary Stone
Kevin McDine 6-5 Steve Beaton
Mick Todd 6-4 Lee Palfreyman
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Colin Osborne
Jason Wilson 6-1 Colin Lloyd
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Andy Smith
Robert Owen 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Joe Cullen
Paul Milford 6-5 Devon Petersen
Andrew Gilding 6-1 Tony Richardson
Ricky Evans 6-1 Dave Bird
Robert Thornton 6-4 William O'Connor
John Bowles 6-3 Dennis Smith
Prakash Jiwa 6-5 Darren Webster
Jason Lovett 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Justin Pipe 6-2 Ross Smith
Joe Murnan 6-4 Kenny MacNeil
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Jim Walker
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Dimitri van den Bergh
Peter Wright 6-5 Alan Norris
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Nigel Heydon
Mark Webster 6-5 Jamie Bain
Robbie Green 6-4 Ben Ward
Max Hopp 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Darren Johnson 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Mark Barilli
Mark Cox 6-0 Andy Parsons
Michael Smith 6-3 Chris Dobey
Jyhan Artut 6-2 Jan Dekker
Joey Ten Berge 6-5 Wes Newton
John Henderson 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts
Johnny Haines 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Curtis Hammond 6-2 Jamie Robinson
Paul Nicholson 6-2 Jamie Caven
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Eddie Dootson
Ian White 6-1 Matt Padgett
James Wilson 6-1 Ross Twell
Ian Moss 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Stuart Kellett 6-1 Steve Hine
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Steve West
Terry Temple 6-3 Josh Payne
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Adam Hunt
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Nathan Derry
David Pallett 6-4 Kevin Painter
Mike Zuydwijk 6-2 David Dodds
Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Mervyn King
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Tony Newell
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Steve Douglas 6-3 Stephen McNally
James Wade 6-2 James Forster
Jay Foreman 6-5 Magnus Caris
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Tim Martin
Andy Boulton 6-1 John Part
Steve Brown 6-3 Terry Jenkins
Tomas Seyler 6-4 Mark Walsh
Dean Winstanley 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Kevin Thomas 6-1 Kevin Voornhout

Second Round 
Brian Woods 6-3 Gary Anderson
Christian Kist 6-1 Mark Frost
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Kyle Anderson
Mick Todd 6-5 Kevin McDine
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Jason Wilson
Robert Owen 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Paul Milford
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Ricky Evans
Robert Thornton 6-3 John Bowles
Jason Lovett 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Justin Pipe 6-2 Joe Murnan
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Peter Wright 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Mark Webster 6-3 Robbie Green
Darren Johnson 6-5 Max Hopp
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Mark Cox
Michael Smith 6-3 Jyhan Artut
Joey Ten Berge 6-0 John Henderson
Johnny Haines 6-2 Curtis Hammond
Paul Nicholson 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Ian White 6-3 James Wilson
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-0 Ian Moss
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Stuart Kellett
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Terry Temple
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Mike Zuydwijk 6-0 David Pallett
Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Steve Douglas
James Wade 6-3 Jay Foreman
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Andy Boulton
Steve Brown 6-4 Tomas Seyler
Kevin Thomas 6-3 Dean Winstanley
Losers: £250

Third Round 
Christian Kist 6-4 Brian Woods
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Mick Todd
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Robert Owen
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Robert Thornton 6-2 Jason Lovett
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Justin Pipe
Peter Wright 6-5 Mark Webster
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Darren Johnson
Michael Smith 6-3 Joey Ten Berge
Paul Nicholson 6-1 Johnny Haines
Ian White 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan - *De Zwaan nine-darter* 
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Mike Zuydwijk
Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Benito van de Pas
James Wade 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Kevin Thomas 6-4 Steve Brown
Losers: £750 

Last 16 
Christian Kist 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Robert Thornton 6-2 Cristo Reyes - *Reyes hits a nine-darter*
Peter Wright 6-1 Jelle Klaasen
Michael Smith 6-1 Paul Nicholson
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Ian White
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Mark Dudbridge
James Wade 6-5 Kevin Thomas
Losers: £1,500 

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Christian Kist
Peter Wright 6-5 Robert Thornton
Michael Smith 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld
James Wade 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Losers: £2,000 

Peter Wright 6-4 Andrew Gilding
James Wade 6-4 Michael Smith
Losers: £2,500 

James Wade 6-5 Peter Wright
Winner: £10,000
Runner-Up: £5,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Tenacious James Wade takes Players Championship triumph in Barnsley

James Wade claimed Sunday's Players Championship title with a resilient 6-5 victory over Peter Wright in the final in Barnsley, on a day which also witnessed two magical nine-darters.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages