Jeffrey de Zwaan claims maiden PDC title at Players Championship Ten

Dutch ace De Zwaan celebrates (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Jeffrey de Zwaan claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Ten in Wigan on Sunday courtesy of a 6-5 victory over Jonny Clayton in the final.

The 22-year-old, who won back his Tour Card at Qualifying School in January, broke new ground by becoming the latest new winner of a senior PDC tournament this season.

De Zwaan had twice lost out to Gary Anderson in ProTour finals this year but it proved third time lucky for the Dutch youngster as he denied Clayton in a deciding leg to clinch the £10,000 winner's cheque.

"I feel wonderful, it means so much to me," said De Zwaan. "I've lost two finals so far this year so I was going into this game thinking ‘I don't want to lose in the final again’.

"It's an amazing feeling to win my first ever PDC title, I can't put my feelings into words."

De Zwaan began his run with a 6-4 defeat of Austria's Zoran Lerchbacher before edging past Premier League star Michael Smith in a last-leg decider.

The world number 75 then swept aside Justin Pipe 6-2 and overcame former World Champion Steve Beaton 6-3 to reach the Quarter-Finals.

There, he defeated James Wilson 6-3 before ending the landmark run of Germany's Gabriel Clemens with a repeat scoreline in the Semi-Finals.

It was Clayton who struck first with a 13-dart break in the opening leg before the youngster took the next two legs to move ahead.

Clayton replied with double 12, and after De Zwaan had taken out 80 for 3-2, the Welshman produced another 13-darter to restore parity.

The duo exchanged the next two legs before Clayton hit the front courtesy of double 16 for a timely break of throw to go within a leg of the title.

De Zwaan, however, had other ideas, landing double one to break back and force a decider - in which he held firm on double nine to kick-start his title tally.

Clayton was appearing in his second ranking final in as many days, following on from his triumph in last Sunday's Austrian Darts Open.

The Welsh star began his run with 6-4 wins over Ron Meulenkamp and Kevin Burness, which he followed up by thrashing Paul Rowley 6-1 and whitewashing compatriot Robert Owen.

The Pontyberem thrower then produced a spectacular display to dump out Saturday's champion Michael van Gerwen with a 6-4 triumph in the Quarter-Finals and a 111 average to boot.

He then secured his spot in the final with a 6-3 victory over 2014 Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting in the Last Four.

Germany's Clemens enjoyed a run to his first ProTour Semi-Final, defeating the likes of world number two Peter Wright and multiple major winner James Wade along the way.

Martin Schindler, another of Germany's top emerging stars, sensationally whitewashed World Champion Rob Cross on his way to the Quarter-Finals - where he was eventually beaten by Bunting.

Gary Anderson came from 5-1 down to edge out Ryan Harrington in the First Round but his run was ended at the Third Round stage in a deciding leg defeat to James Wilson.

Players Championship Eight winner Mickey Mansell enjoyed another fine run as he made it to the Last Eight, notably whitewashing Dave Chisnall in the Last 32.

Players Championship Ten Results

Sunday April 29

First Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Ronny Huybrechts
Robert Thornton 6-2 Ross Twell
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Gary Eastwood 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 John Henderson
Harry Ward 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Mark Webster 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Jason Lowe 6-5 Wayne Jones
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Kevin Burness 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Michael Barnard
Paul Rowley 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Robert Owen 6-4 Ian White
Tytus Kanik 6-4 Ricky Evans
Alan Norris 6-5 Jan Dekker
Joe Murnan 6-5 Tony Newell
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Scott Darbyshire
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Terry Temple
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Devon Petersen
Prakash Jiwa 6-3 Ryan Searle
Darren Webster 6-2 Simon Stevenson
Toni Alcinas 6-2 Dawson Murschell
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Simon Preston
Alan Tabern 6-4 Adam Hunt
Rob Cross 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Robert Rickwood 6-2 Martin Atkins
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Christian Kist
Martin Schindler 6-1 Jose Justicia
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Peter Hudson
Richie Burnett 6-2 Darren Johnson
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Jamie Bain
Steve Hine 6-5 Aden Kirk
Peter Wright 6-1 Vincent Kamphuis
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Jim Brown
Ted Evetts 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Ross Smith 6-5 William O'Connor
Madars Razma 6-4 Mervyn King
Jarred Cole 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
James Wade 6-4 George Killington
Jamie Caven 6-4 Davy Van Baelen
Danny Noppert 6-4 Joe Cullen
Peter Jacques 6-3 Kevin Painter
Keegan Brown 6-3 Chris Quantock
Scott Taylor 6-3 James Richardson
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Josh Payne 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Kyle Anderson 6-3 Stephen Burton
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Diogo Portela
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
John Davey 6-4 Mario Robbe
Steve West 6-0 Sven Groen
Jason Cullen BYE (John Part timed out)
Gary Anderson 6-5 Ryan Harrington
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Luke Humphries
James Wilson 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Mark Dudbridge
Michael Smith 6-3 Arron Monk
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Justin Pipe 6-1 John Goldie
Mark Wilson 6-2 Chris Dobey
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Steve Lennon 6-2 Robert Marijanovic
Steve Beaton 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Eddie Dootson

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Robert Thornton
Gary Eastwood 6-2 Cristo Reyes
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Harry Ward
Mark Webster 6-1 Jason Lowe
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Kevin Burness
Paul Rowley 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Robert Owen 6-5 Tytus Kanik
Joe Murnan 6-3 Alan Norris
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Prakash Jiwa 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Toni Alcinas 6-4 Darren Webster
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Alan Tabern
Rob Cross 6-2 Robert Rickwood
Martin Schindler 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Richie Burnett
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Steve Hine
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Peter Wright
Ted Evetts 6-5 Ross Smith
Jarred Cole 6-4 Madars Razma
James Wade 6-3 Jamie Caven
Danny Noppert 6-3 Peter Jacques
Keegan Brown 6-1 Scott Taylor
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Josh Payne
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Kyle Anderson
John Davey 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Steve West 6-3 Jason Cullen
Gary Anderson 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
James Wilson 6-5 Ronnie Baxter
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Michael Smith
Justin Pipe 6-1 Mark Wilson
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Steve Lennon
Steve Beaton 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Losers: £500

Last 32
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Gary Eastwood
Mark Webster 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Paul Rowley
Robert Owen 6-5 Joe Murnan
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Prakash Jiwa
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Toni Alcinas
Martin Schindler 6-0 Rob Cross
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Ted Evetts
James Wade 6-5 Jarred Cole
Danny Noppert 6-3 Keegan Brown
Mickey Mansell 6-0 Dave Chisnall
Steve West 6-4 John Davey
James Wilson 6-5 Gary Anderson
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-2 Justin Pipe
Steve Beaton 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Michael Van Gerwen 6-2 Mark Webster
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Robert Owen
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Martin Schindler 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 James Wade
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Danny Noppert
James Wilson 6-4 Steve West
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Steve Beaton
Losers: £1,500

Jonny Clayton 6-4 Michael Van Gerwen
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Martin Schindler
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 James Wilson
Losers: £2,250

Jonny Clayton 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Losers: £3,000

Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Jeffrey de Zwaan claims maiden PDC title at Players Championship Ten

Jeffrey de Zwaan claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Ten in Wigan on Sunday courtesy of a 6-5 victory over Jonny Clayton in the final.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages