Netherlands deny Wales to recapture World Cup of Darts title

Van Gerwen and Van Barneveld raise the trophy (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld secured a third World Cup of Darts title for the Netherlands with victory over Gerwyn Price and Mark Webster of Wales in the final in Frankfurt on Sunday.

The Dutch duo started out as pre-tournament favourites and justified that billing with a series of superb singles and doubles performances to claim the crown for the first time since 2014.

The two multiple World Champions had averaged 109 in their pairs win over Czech Republic on Friday, before requiring doubles deciders to dispatch United States of America and Germany.
Their title bid continued with a 2-0 Semi-Final win over reigning champions England - avenging last year's defeat in the final - before they overcame Wales in a repeat of the 2010 final.
"This is fantastic," said Van Gerwen, who shook off a foot injury during the weekend. "Only once a year we can play as a team and we're going to enjoy this.
"If you're in the tournament you want to win it, On paper we were the strongest couple but you still have to do it and we played well, especially in the Pairs games we were absolutely fantastic."
Van Barneveld added: "It was an amazing tournament and I'm so happy with my third World Cup title.
"Michael was really in agony on Friday and Benito came to be there if Michael couldn't play. I'm happy he played, he's a fighter and a battler and he was always there for me.
"If you look back to the Pairs, it was unreal what we averaged. I was struggling in the Singles but the Pairs was our key thing, and I'm extremely happy with this."

Van Gerwen kicked off the final with a 4-0 whitewash of UK Open finalist Price, before Webster clinically saw off Van Barneveld 4-1 to level matters.
The Dutch raced into a 3-0 lead in the Doubles tie, before Price responded to Van Gerwen's 107 checkout by taking out 100 with the aid of two double tops as Wales hit back, but double 16 sealed a 4-1 result.
Van Barneveld then came from a leg down to defeat Price 4-2 in the final's third Singles tie, hitting a 136 checkout in the process of sealing his World Cup hat-trick and a share of the £60,000 top prize.
Wales' run to the final was their best finish in the tournament since Webster had been joined by Barrie Bates as they reached the 2010 decider, as they saw off Russia - for the loss of just one leg - and Belgium on Sunday.
"From day one we played pretty well, and if I knew on Thursday we'd be in the final I would have taken it," said Price. "I'm thrilled to be in the final.
"It's disappointing to lose, but it's hard to pull out a big performance against people like Raymond and Michael, they're on top of their game all the time."
Webster added: "We believed we could win but they hit the big shots at the right time. I'm really proud of what we've done, I've had a great weekend with Gezzy and enjoyed every minute of it."
Belgian duo Kim and Ronny Huybrechts had been bidding to emulate their run to the 2013 final as they saw off Singapore in a Doubles decider at the quarter-final stage.
That win over Singapore included younger brother Kim's stunning 121.97 average as he overcame Paul Lim 4-1 in the opening Singles tie of the day, recording the second highest televised average in history.
Host nation Germany took the Netherlands to a Doubles decider, with youngster Martin Schindler having led 2-0 before losing to Van Gerwen before Max Hopp overcame Van Barneveld 4-3, only for the Dutch to prevail 4-1 after pairing up once more.
Austria took England to a Doubles decider after Mensur Suljovic whitewashed Lewis in their opener, landing a 170 finish in the process, with Chisnall then seeing off Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-1 before the reigning champions edged through.
However, Lewis was made to pay for missing the bull to defeat Van Gerwen in their semi-final, before Van Barneveld's 4-2 defeat of Chisnall ended England's bid to win a fifth World Cup.

Betway World Cup of Darts 2017 Results

Sunday June 4

Afternoon Session


Belgium 2-1 Singapore
Kim Huybrechts 4-1 Paul Lim
Ronny Huybrechts 2-4 Harith Lim
Huybrechts/Huybrechts 4-2 Lim/Lim

Wales 2-0 Russia
Gerwyn Price 4-1 Aleksandr Oreshkin
Mark Webster 4-0 Boris Koltsov

England 2-1 Austria
Adrian Lewis 0-4 Mensur Suljovic
Dave Chisnall 4-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Lewis/Chisnall 4-2 Suljovic/Rodriguez

Netherlands 2-1 Germany
Michael van Gerwen 4-2 Martin Schindler
Raymond van Barneveld 3-4 Max Hopp
Van Gerwen/Van Barneveld 4-1 Schindler/Hopp

Evening Session


Belgium 0-2 Wales
Kim Huybrechts 2-4 Gerwyn Price
Ronny Huybrechts 2-4 Mark Webster

England 0-2 Netherlands
Adrian Lewis 3-4 Michael van Gerwen
Dave Chisnall 2-4 Raymond van Barneveld


Netherlands 3-1 Wales
Michael van Gerwen 4-0 Gerwyn Price
Raymond van Barneveld 1-4 Mark Webster
Van Gerwen/Van Barneveld 4-1 Price/Webster
Raymond van Barneveld 4-2 Gerwyn Price

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Netherlands deny Wales to recapture World Cup of Darts title

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld secured a third World Cup of Darts title for the Netherlands with victory over Gerwyn Price and Mark Webster of Wales in the final in Frankfurt on Sunday.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages