Netherlands claim fabulous fourth World Cup of Darts title

Van Gerwen and Van Barneveld celebrate with the trophy (credit:Kelly Deckers/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld secured a record-equalling fourth World Cup of Darts triumph for the Netherlands courtesy of a 3-1 win over Scotland in the final.

The deadly Dutch duo emphatically retained their crown in Frankfurt, denying Peter Wright and Gary Anderson a first taste of pairs glory.

Netherlands dropped just one leg en route to the Semi-Finals, following up whitewashes of Gibraltar and South Africa by defeating hosts Germany in the Quarter-Finals.

Van Gerwen had defied a 110 average and five 180s from Martin Schindler to claim a 4-1 win before Barney whitewashed Max Hopp to continue their charge.

They then dispatched in-form Belgium in the Last Four, with Van Gerwen overcoming Kim Huybrechts 4-2 before Van Barneveld completed the job with a 4-2 defeat of Dimitri van den Bergh.

Van Gerwen registered the first point of the final with a 4-2 win over Peter Wright, producing checkouts of 143, 112 and 92 along the way.

Anderson then landed five maximums in a 4-1 rout of Van Barneveld to level the tie, before the two multiple World Champions dominated the pairs contest 4-1 to regain the lead.

Van Barneveld powered in a 135 checkout to move Netherlands 2-0 up in the pairs and cleaned up a 96 finish, and though Anderson rallied with a 127 checkout, Netherlands sealed the point in the following leg.

World number one MVG secured the trophy in clinical fashion with a 4-0 whitewash of rival Anderson, averaging 111.33.

"I think we played a phenomenal game through the whole tournament," said Van Gerwen.
"Any tournament you compete in you want to win, but playing alongside Raymond for our country makes it extra special.

"We did the right things at the right moments and that's what made us champions."

Van Barneveld added: "Playing alongside the best player in the world is always a pleasure.

"It was a tough game against Gary, he played amazing and hit five 180s and I didn’t have much time to recover for the doubles.

"I managed to get it together and we played a great doubles match to really get hold of the match, and then Michael finished the job for us. It feels amazing to win this title again."

Scotland had begun the day with a routine victory over Japan as Wright whitewashed Segio Asada 4-0 before Anderson repeated the dose on Haruki Muramatsu.

They then edged out Australia in a nail-biting Semi-Final, with Wright having defeated Simon Whitlock 4-3 before Kyle Anderson wrapped up a 4-3 win over Gary Anderson with a 130 checkout to force a pairs shoot-out.

Scotland raced into a 3-0 lead with the aid of a 120 checkout from Wright before the Aussie duo hit back with three consecutive legs to go the distance.

After missing five match darts in previous legs, Wright finally sewed up victory with an 81 checkout.

"It was a shame we came up short in the final, but I think we can be proud of how we played in the tournament," said Anderson.

"Maybe next year we can go one better, but fair play to Michael and Raymond they deserved the win this time."

The Scottish pair suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of Singapore 12 months ago but bounced back with a strong display this year.

Wright added: "I loved playing in front of this amazing crowd.

"It's been fantastic playing alongside Gary, we've really enjoyed it. The trophy should've been ours but we'll have to make sure we come back stronger next year and not make the same mistakes."

Belgium's run to a fourth consecutive Semi-Final saw them knock out four-time winners England in the Quarter-Finals.

Rob Cross defeated Huybrechts with a 107.5 average before Van den Bergh denied Dave Chisnall with a last-leg victory to send the tie into a pairs decider.

The Belgian duo ran riot from the outset, averaging 100 and affording England just one dart at a double in the entire match as they secured a 4-0 whitewash.

Wales, last year's beaten finalists, were beaten in a pairs decider by Australia in the Last Eight.

World Cup of Darts 2018 Results

Sunday June 3

Afternoon Session


Scotland 2-0 Japan
Peter Wright 4-0 Seigo Asada
Gary Anderson 4-0 Haruki Muramatsu

Wales 1-2 Australia
Gerwyn Price 2-4 Simon Whitlock
Jonny Clayton 4-0 Kyle Anderson
Price/Clayton 1-4 Whitlock/Anderson

England 1-2 Belgium
Rob Cross 4-2 Kim Huybrechts
Dave Chisnall 3-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Cross/Chisnall 0-4 Huybrechts/Van den Bergh

Netherlands 2-0 Germany
Martin Schindler 1-4 Michael van Gerwen
Max Hopp 0-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Evening Session


Scotland 2-1 Australia
Peter Wright 4-3 Simon Whitlock
Gary Anderson 3-4 Kyle Anderson
Wright/Anderson 4-3 Whitlock/Anderson

Netherlands 2-0 Belgium
Michael van Gerwen 4-2 Kim Huybrechts
Raymond van Barneveld 4-2 Dimitri van den Bergh


Scotland 1-3 Netherlands
Peter Wright 2-4 Michael van Gerwen
Gary Anderson 4-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Wright/Anderson 1-4 Van Gerwen/Van Barneveld
Gary Anderson 0-4 Michael van Gerwen

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Netherlands claim fabulous fourth World Cup of Darts title

Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld secured a record-equalling fourth World Cup of Darts triumph for the Netherlands courtesy of a 3-1 win over Scotland in the final.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages