Premier League Darts

The Premier League Darts is an invitational road-show event featuring eight of the world's top players competing over 14 weeks of round robin action, with the top four players qualifying for finals night at the O2 Arena in May.

The Premier League tournament which launched on January 20, 2005 on Sky Sports, and is currently the world's largest indoor sports event.

Matches are held across the country at different arena venues every Thursday night, holding up to 12,000 people. The top four players in the PDC Order of Merit are joined by a further six wildcard picks in the star-studded event.

Phil Taylor has dominated this event, winning it on six occasions before Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld won respective titles in 2013 and 2014. 

Taylor went unbeaten throughout the first three seasons before James Wade ended his 44 match run in the first match of the 2008 season. 

A new champion was to be crowned after Mervyn King defeated him in the 2009 semi-finals. Wade defeated King 13–8 in the final, to pick up the £125,000 first prize.

Phil Taylor defeated James Wade the following season to claim his fifth title in the competition in 2010, however he was defeated in the semi-finals of the 2011 tournament, allowing Gary Anderson to become champion in his debut season by defeating Adrian Lewis in a repeat of the world championship final earlier that year.

Taylor regained his crown in 2012 with victory over Simon Whitlock in the final. He became the first player ever to hit two nine darters in the same match during the epic 2010 final against James Wade.

The 2013 event saw Barry Hearn introduce a new 'relegation' concept - whereby the bottom two players in the league table after week 9 would be eliminated, with the remaining players continuing to play for play-off places.

Darts Deals United States
Change Location

*Terms & Conditions apply. Gamble Responsibly. 18+.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages